State Coalition roaster

Through its network of member organizations and volunteer state representatives, NCPPA supports state coalitions to help promote physical activity and exchange information on best practices. State coalition members include fitness experts, physical educators, health professionals, state and local officials, consumers, and others interested in healthy lifestyles.

State coalitions actively work to promote physical activity on many fronts:

  • Actively support state and federal legislation and public policy that supports and promotes physical activity;
  • Conducting state and local physical activity programs that are designed to encourage behavior change;
  • Mobilizing community-based organizations;
  • Cultivating effective contacts with public officials, community leaders, media, and other policymakers;
  • Supporting NCPPA national efforts.

Although the leadership and membership vary from state to state, many of the coalitions co-sponsor the same national events and campaigns.  For example, several state coalitions sponsor ACES (All Children Exercise Simultaneously) organized by the Youth Fitness Coalition, Inc. (see http://www.projectaces.com), and Walk to School events (see http://www.walktoschool-usa.org ).

State coalitions are the key to NCPPA’s ability to mobilize volunteers and grass roots organizations for advocacy, outreach, public awareness, and public education campaigns.

NCPPA provides outreach tools kits, community organizing tips, and other materials and information to help coalitions get the word out about the heath benefits of becoming physically active.

If your state does not currently have an active coalition, contact NCPPA to find out how you can start one (info@ncppa.org).

Arizona
Doug Peterson, M.D.
13400 E. Shea Blvd.
Scottsdale, AZ  85259
602-301-7677
602-301-7558 fax
Peterson-Douglas@mayo.edu

Arkansas
Dr. Blair Dean
Assistant Professor
Arkansas State University
Department of HPESS
P.O. Box 240
State University, AR 72467
870-972-3066
bdean@astate.edu

Colorado
Jacqueline Shumway
Colorado Coalition of Partnerships in Physical Activity
Regional Health & Science Policy Coordinator
1770 Jasmine Street Denver, CO 00220
303-744-7676
303-315-8660 fax
taichiproj@earthlink.net 
http://www.taichidenver.com

Connecticut
Charles Chatterton
Eastern Connecticut State University
Department of Health and Physical Education
83 Windham Street
Willimantic, CT 06226
860-465-5183
860-465-0186 fax
chattertonc@easternct.edu

Delaware
Avron Abraham
University of Delaware
Department of Physical Education
Carpenter Sports Building
Newark, DE 19716
302-831-8742
302-831-4261 fax
avron@udel.edu

Florida
Gerald Fletcher, M.D.
Mayo Clinic Jacksonville
4500 San Pablo Road
Jacksonville, FL 32224
904-953-7278
904-953-2911 fax
gbflet@aol.com

Georgia
Bruce Leonard, MPH, CHES
AIM 2010
809 Mill Bend Drive
Lawrenceville, GA 30044
770-978-2289
770-978-3821 fax
aim2010@bellsouth.net

Maryland
Ann M. Walsh, M.H.S.
Physical Activity Coordinator
Center for Preventive Health Services
Maryland Department of Health & Mental Hygiene
201 W. Preston Street
Baltimore, MD 21201
410-767-5283, office
410-333-7411, Fax
awalsh@dhmh.state.md.us

Massachusetts
Carol Ewing Garber, Ph.D., FACSM, RCEP
Associate Professor and Director, Clinical Exercise
Department of Cardiopulmonary and Exercise Sciences
School of Health Professions
Northeastern University
100 Docker Hall
Boston, MA 02115-5000
617-373-2526
617-373-2968 fax
c.garber@neu.edu or cegarber@aol.com

Michigan
Marilyn Lieber
Michigan Governor’s Council on Physical Fitness, Health and Sports
P.O. Box 27187
Lansing, MI  48909
(517) 347-7891
(517) 347-8145
mlieber@michiganfitness.org
URL:  www.michiganfitness.org

Minnesota
Murray Harber
Hennepin HealthWorks
300 South Sixth Street
Minneapolis, MN 55487
612.596.9210
murray.harber@co.hennepin.mn.us

Mississippi
Jeffrey S. Hallam, PhD, AAHB
Assistant Professor and Director
Center for Health Promotion Health Behavior
Health, Exercise Science, and Recreation Management
215 Turner Center, PO BOX 1848
The University of Mississippi
University, MS 38677
662.915.5140 (office)
662.915.5525 (fax)
jhallam@olemiss.edu

Nebraska
Jamie Hahn
Cardiovascular Health Program, Program Manager
Nebraska Dept of Health and Human Services
301 Centennial Mall South
Lincoln, NE 68509
402-471-3493
402-471-6446 fax
jamie.hahn@hhss.ne.gov

New Hampshire 
Dianne Rappa
Executive Director of NHAHPERD and Executive Director of the North Country YMCA
P.O. Box 123, 258 Porter Road
Bath, NH 03740-0123
603-747-3508
603-747-2408 fax
603-481-1852 cellular
drappa@valley.net

New Jersey
Karin Millie/Ben Shaffer
New Jersey Council on Physical Fitness & Sports
Public Health Consultant/Council Chairperson
50 E. State Street, 6th Floor
PO Box 364
Trenton, NJ  08625-0364
609-292-1723/973-994-3688
609-292-3580 fax
karin.mille@doh.state.nj.us ben_shaffer@hotmail.com

New York
Phil Haberstro
Wellness Institute of Greater Buffalo
65 Niagra Square, Room 607
Buffalo, NY 14202
716-851-4052
716-851-4309 fax
phaberstro@ch.ci.buffalo.ny.us
URL: www.nysphysicalactivity.org

Ohio
Amy Jo Sutterluety, Ph.D., FACSM
Baldwin Wallace College
275 Eastland Road
Berea OH, 44017
440-826-3175
440-826-2192 fax
asutterl@bw.edu

 

Oregon
Minot Cleveland, M.D.
6072 SE Eastbrook Drive
Milwaukie, Oregon 97222
503-786-9225
503-301-5181 pager
503-786-6836 fax

minot.cleveland@worldnet.att.net

 

Pennsylvania
Allison Topper
Pennsylvania Advocates for Nutrition & Activity
777 W. Harrisburg Pike

Educational Activities Building

Middletown, PA  17057
717-948-6315
717-948-6334 fax

atopper@panaonline.org

 

South Carolina
Amy Splittgerber
352 Harrow Drive
Columbia, SC 29210
803-798-9086
803-253-4001 fax
splittae@dhec.state.sc.us

 

Texas
Jennifer Smith, M.S.H.P
Director
Cardiovascular Health and Wellness Program
Texas Department of Health
1100 West 49th Street
Austin, Texas 78756
512-458-7111 x2209
512-458-7618 fax
jennifer.smith@tdh.state.tx.us

Vermont
Mike Feulner
2024 Camel’s Hump Road
Duxbury, VT 05676
802-888-4576
mfeulner@aol.com

Washington
Jane Moore, MD
2102 N Vassault St
Tacoma, WA 98406-2521
Home 253-759-4956
Cell 253-307-9873
Jane_WCPPA@comcast.net
URL: www.beactive.org

West Virginia
Kristy Blower
350 Capitol Street, Room 319
Charleston, WV 25301
(304) 558-0644
(304) 558-1553 fax
kristyblower@wvdhhr.org

Kai Sommer ist einer von wenigen echten praktizierender Experte im Bereich Gesundheit und Medizin. Er ist bereits seit über 7 Jahren für die Artikel auf Ncppa.org verantwortlich. Seine Artikel haben einen einzigartigen Expertenstatus, was seine Leser auch sehr zu schätzen wissen.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here